UPSC Exams

Civil Service Assamese Syllabus

Mains Syllabus of Assamese

UPSC Assamese Language Syllabus


(Answers must be written in Assamese)



  1. History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo-Aryan Languages – periods in its history.
  2. Developments of Assamese prose.
  3. Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on Assamese coming down from Old Indo-Aryan.
  4. Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.
  5. Morphology of the language-conjugation-enclitic definitives and pleonastic suffixes.
  6. Dilectical divergences-the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.
  7. Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A.D.

Related: UPSC Urdu Syllabus


Literary Criticism and Literary History:

  1. Principles of Literary criticism upto New criticism.
  2. Different literary genres.
  3. Development of literary forms in Assamese.
  4. Development of literary criticism in Assamese.
  5. Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings, i.e. from the period of the
    charyyageets with their socio-cultural background : the proto Assamese-Pre-Sankaradeva – Sankaradeva-post
    Sankaradeva – Modern period (from the coming of the Britishers)-Post-Independence period. Special emphasis is to be given on the Vaisnavite period, the gonaki and the post-Independence period.

Related: Telgu Language Civil Service Syllabus


(Answers must be written in Assamese)

This paper will require first-hand reading of the texts prescribed and will be designed to test the candidates’ critical ability.


  • Rãmãyana (Ayodhya Kãnda only) -Pãrijãt-Harana -Rãsakrïdã -Bargeet -Rãjasûya – by Madhava Kandaliby Sankaradevaby Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa)by Madhavadevaby Madhavadeva
  • Kãthã-Bhãgavata (Books I and II) – by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya
  • Gurucarit-Kathã (Sankaradeva’s Part only) – ed. by Maheswar Neog


  • Mor Jeevan Soñwaran -Kripãbar Barbaruãr Kãkatar Topola -Pratimã -Gãoñburhã -Monamatî – by Lakshminath Bezbaroaby Lakshminath Bezbaroaby Chandra Kumar Agarwallaby Padmanath Gohain Baruaby Rajanikanta Bordoloi
  • Purani Asamîyã Sãhitya – by Banikanta Kakati
  • Kãrengar Ligirî – by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla
  • Jeevanar Bãtat – by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)
  • Mrityunjoy – by Birendrakumar Bhattacharyya
  • Samrãt – by Navakanta


Share with your Friends...
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Pin on Pinterest
Print this page

About the author

Jaspreet Singh

Leave a Comment