Bank Recruitment

IBPS Specialist Officer Exam

ibps specialist officers exam

IBPS Specialist Officer Recruitment:

Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) conducts a Common Written Examination (CWE) for recruitment IT, Technical, Agriculture, Legal, Marketing, HR, Finance, Rajbhasha etc departments of Public sector banks.

Post filled through IBPS Special Officer Exam:

  • I.T. Officer (Scale-I)
  • I.T. Officer (Scale-II)
  • HR/Personnel Officer (Scale I)
  • Finance Executive (Scale II)
  • Agricultural Field Officer (Scale I)
  • Chartered Accountant (Scale II)
  • Rajbhasha Adhikari (Scale I)
  • Law Officer (Scale I)
  • Law Officer (Scale II)
  • Marketing Officer (Scale I)

IBPS Eligibility:

Eligibility required to appear in IBPS Common Written Exam for specialist Officer:

Age: Age of applying candidate must be more than 21 years and less than 35 years except Law and IT officer (II scale) for these two posts maximum age of candidate can be 40.

Nationality: same as for SSC Graduate Level combined Exam

Educational eligibility:

  • I.T. Officer (Scale-I and scale-II): Degree in Computer Science / Computer Applications/ Information Technology/ Electronics/ Electronics & Telecommunications/ Electronics & Communication/ Electronics & Instrumentation


Post Graduate Degree in Electronics/ Electronics & Tele Communication / Electronics & Communication/ Electronics & Instrumentation / Computer Science/ Information Technology/ Computer Applications from a recognized University/ Institution.


Graduate from a recognized university having passed DOEACC ‘B’ level.
Note: For IT Officer (Scale II) experience of 1 year is required.

  • Agricultural Field Officer (Scale I): Degree in Agriculture or allied specialisations such as Horticulture/Animal Husbandry / Veterinary Science/ Dairy Science/ Agriculture Engineering/ Fishery Science/ Pisciculture/ Agriculture Marketing & Cooperation/ Forestry etc. from recognized university.
  • Rajbhasha Adhikari (Scale I): A post Graduate Degree in Hindi with English as a subject at the degree level OR a post graduate degree in Sanskrit with English and Hindi as subjects at the degree level.
  • Law Officer (Scale I & Scale II): A Bachelor Degree in Law (LLB).

Note: 3 years experience of practice at Bar or Judicial service and/or Law Officer in the Legal Dept. of a reputed Bank or the Central/State Government or of a Public Sector Undertaking with practice at Bar.

  • Technical Officer (Scale I): Degree in Engineering in Civil/ Electrical/ Mechanical/ Production/ Metallurgy/ Electronics/ Electronics & Telecommunication/ Computer Science/ Information Technology/ Textile/ Chemical engg./ B.Pharm.
  • HR/Personnel Officer (Scale I): Graduate from a recognized university and Post Graduate degree or diploma recognized by AICTE in Personnel Management / Industrial Relations/ HRD/Social Work / Labour Law OR Degree/Diploma in Business Administration/ Management with specialization in HRD from a recognized University.
  • Marketing Officer (Scale I): MBA (Marketing) / 2 years PGDBA / PGDBM or any other equivalent degree or diploma with specialization in Marketing from a recognized University/ Institution.
  • Chartered Accountant (Scale II): Passed final examination for Chartered Accountants.
  • Finance Executive (Scale II): MBA/PGDBM (Finance) from a recognized university / AICTE approved Institution.

Note: Minimum experience of 3 years in the area of Credit Appraisal of industrial projects in Financial Institutions / Banks

IBPS Exam Pattern:

Marking Scheme: For every incorrect answer 0.25 marks will be deducted as panalty.

IBPS written exam pattern for Law Officer- Scale-I & II & Rajbhasha Adhikari Scale-I:

Total time for written exam is two (2) hours.

IBPS written exam pattern for IT Officer Scales I & II, Agriculture Field Officer Scale I, HR/ Personnel Officer Scale I, Marketing Officer Scale I, Technical Officer Scale I, Chartered Accountants Scale-II & Finance Executive Scale-II:

Total time for written exam is two (2) hours.

Free Sample Papers for Practice:

Exam Centres for Exam:

  • Hyderabad
  • Bhubaneshwar
  • Kochi
  • Guwahati
  • Chandigarh
  • Ranchi
  • Panaji
  • Vishakhapatnam
  • Chennai
  • Shimla
  • Coimbatore
  • Pune
  • Puducherry
  • Madurai
  • Raipur
  • Allahabad
  • Jammu
  • Lucknow
  • Vijaywada
  • Ahmedabad
  • Vadodara
  • Dehradun
  • Bengaluru
  • Patna
  • Nagpur
  • Aurangabad
  • Varanasi
  • Mumbai
  • New Delhi
  • Kolkata
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Siliguri
  • Bhopal
  • Jaipur
  • Indore

Related: Nationalized Banks in India (List)

Participating Banks :

Banks where candidate will be placed after selection:

  • Allahabad Bank
  • Andhra Bank
  • Bank of Baroda
  • Bank of India
  • Bank of Maharashtra
  • Canara Bank
  • Central Bank of India
  • Corporation Bank
  • Dena Bank
  • IDBI Bank
  • Indian Bank
  • Indian Overseas Bank
  • Oriental Bank of Commerce
  • Punjab National Bank
  • Punjab & Sind Bank
  • Syndicate Bank
  • UCO Bank
  • Union Bank of India
  • United Bank of India
  • Vijaya Bank
Share with your Friends...
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Pin on Pinterest
Print this page

About the author

Jaspreet Singh

Leave a Comment

1 Comment