How Many US Presidents Have Been Assassinated?

In the history of the United States, four presidents have been assassinated.

Among them are Abraham Lincoln, James Garfield, William McKinley, and John F. Kennedy.

Assassinations have occurred during all four of these presidents' terms in office.

The assassination of William McKinley in September 1901 led to the creation of the Secret Service, a department of the Treasury that investigated counterfeiting.

The Secret Service also had the job of protecting the President from threats. This agency is still in place today, and it's responsible for protecting the President.

According to historian James W. Clarke, the majority of assassins were not insane but acting on their own.

Assassins often have accomplices who share their political agenda.