When Did India Gain Independence?

Many believe that the British ruled the country for 190 years before India gained its independence.

However, there is no concrete evidence to support that assertion because it was the East India Company who controlled different provinces in India from 1612 to 1857.

The British Crown ruled India from 1858 to 1947. So, technically you can say that the British Crown ruled India for close to 90 years.

In December 1929, the Indian National Congress adopted the aim of complete self-rule for India.

In January 1930, a movement called the "Purna Swaraj" was initiated with the goal to gain independence from the British Empire. Hasrat Mohani was first person to demand it

India got Independent due struggle of millions of Indian Freedom Fighters

Some of the notable names are: Mahatma Gandhi,   Bhagat Singh, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Jawaharlal Nehru, Subhash Chandra Bose, Lala Lajpat Rai, Damodar Savarkar,  Ashfaqulla Khan, Chandra Shekhar Azad, Dadabhai Naoroji,  Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Tantia Tope, Ram Prasad Bismil, Lal Bahadur Shastri Rani Lakshmi Bai, Sukhdev Bipin Chandra Pal, Chittaranjan Das,  Nana Sahib 

Initially Britain offered India dual governance.

The British government eventually gave in to the demands of India and was declared independent on 15 August 1947.