When Did Mexico Gain Independence?

By Billy Rogers 08/11/20

Mexico is a country located in southern North America.

Its borders include the United States, Guatemala, and Belize. It borders the Pacific Ocean, Caribbean Sea, Gulf of Mexico.

The country had been under Spanish rule for centuries before it achieved its independence in 1821.

The Spanish Viceroy Juan de O'Donoju signed the Treaty of Cordoba, which declared Mexico an independent constitutional monarchy.

Mexican independence was achieved after 11 years of war with Spain.

Mexican independence is celebrated annually on September 16th.