How Many US Presidents Have Been Impeached?

Lined Circle
Lined Circle

Presidents can be impeached for a variety of reasons, including crimes, misdemeanors, and failure to fulfill their constitutional duties.

While impeachment of a president is rare, it does happen.

The process of impeachment is similar to criminal trials, and the Senate is the court of inquiry in this process.

During an impeachment trial, the Senate hears the evidence against the president and tries him on the charges.

Afterwards, they vote to acquit or convict the president, and may even ban him from office if he is found guilty.

The first president to be impeached was Andrew Johnson, who was president for four years from 1865 to 1868.

Johnson was impeached after firing his secretary of war, Edwin Stanton, for violating the Tenure of Office Act.

Andrew Johnson was the first US president to be impeached, but was not removed from office.

Bill Clinton was the  president to be impeached in 1998.

Donald Trump was impeached two times, first in 2019 and then in 2021.